Additional Resources

Click any of the links below to view.


HSF Revolving Fund Available Properties
To see a nearly identical home fully restored click here.
Google Maps
Application for Certificate of Appropriatness for Victiorian Historic District
Request form for Alteration/Repair to Property Under Easement or Covenant to Historic Savannah Foundation
Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabiliation
MPC Guidelines for Historic Window Repair
National Park Service “Preservation Briefs”
Sample Easement

521 E. Bolton Online Bid Form

pdf-cover-pageThe Opportunity

Excellent opportunity for a developer, or potential owner-occupied buyer, to preserve a great Queen Anne Victorian home on a strong block. Could either be developed as a duplex investment-property, or restored as a single-family residence. Property to be sold “as-is” to a preservation-minded buyer.
The home is only a five minute walk to beautiful Forsyth Park, surrounding restaurants, and Kroger. Easy walk to SCAD facilities and East Broad Elementary.
Interior architectural features include hardwood floors throughout, high ceilings, and original trim work on windows and doors.
The buyer is expected to reconstruct the original front porch of the home (see attached measured drawings). The exterior of the property will also be subject to a protective easement in perpetuity.

The Property

Built: 1900
Square Footage: 1,982
Historic District: Victorian
Style: Wood frame, Queen Anne Victorian
Zoning: Residential (R1)
Property Record Card: Click here to view

521 E. Bolton is a contributing building in the National Register of Historic Places (as such it is eligible for certain rehabilitation tax incentives). It is also part of Savannah’s locally protected Victorian Historic District.

A Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) is required by the City of Savannah for all exterior changes visible from the public right of way, new construction, demolition, or signage within district boundaries. Also, as a condition of sale, Historic Savannah Foundation will place a protective easement on the property which requires HSF’s review and approval of any exterior changes to the building. The easement is a legally enforceable deed restriction and runs with the property. Per the easement, substantial work on the subject property must begin in earnest within 4 months and completed within 20 months of the date of closing.

Buyer to pay all closing costs. Home is to be sold “as-is” with no warranty.


521 E. Bolton was built in 1900 for Newton R. Yonge, a conductor for the Plant System Railroad. The rail yard was located on the current site of East Broad Elementary School. The 500 block of Bolton Street represents the continuing development of the middle-upper class suburb begun shortly after the Civil War, when Forsyth Park was expanded by 20 acres to the south – making up what we know today as the Victorian District.

Originally built as a single family home, 521 was later converted to a duplex, sometime after 1916. The floor plan is still configured as two separate units – one downstairs, one upstairs.

Scoring System:

HSF’s Revolving Fund Committee will review proposals using a 100-point scoring system based on the following: highest bid amount (25 points); experience and track record of bidder and his/her team with similar projects (25 points); intended use and preservation plan for the property (25 points); discretion of the Committee based on their knowledge and experience with projects of this kind (25 points).

The deadline for submitting complete bid packages is 5 p.m. on Wednesday, March 1, 2017. Offers
can be submitted on-line or by mail to HSF’s office @ 321 E. York St., Savannah, GA 31401

Open House Dates:

Thursday, January 26th, 3 p.m. – 7 p.m. and Saturday, February 11th, 9 a.m. – Noon

Offer Submission Form

Your Name (required)

Company Name

Phone (required)

Your Email (required)

Address (required)


Outline your plans for the property's continued or adoptive use and treatment; include offer price, qualifications, and experience on similar rehab projects of historic properties in Savannah. Upload attachments below if necessary

Bid Amount (required)

Source of Funds (required)


Davenport House Oyster Roast


Join us for a Lowcountry Boil, Oyster Sampler & Chicken Buffet
Saturday, March 5th, 2016
3pm to 6pm
Enjoy Country Jazz by the Johnny Octane Band, a Silent Auction, and a Tour!


Following your purchase parking and shuttle information will be sent to you.


Splendid events like these can happen only with the generosity of our Sponsors and Patrons
Platinum Sponsors
abr.jpeg    southernmotors.jpeg


Other Sponsors




In-Kind Donors
17Hundred90 Inn & Restaurant
Ballastone Inn
Billy’s Place
The Collins Quarter
Gaucho Too!
Mr. and Mrs. Al Hazel
Diane Ingram
Jekyll Island Club
Local 11Ten
Love’s Seafood
Latitude 31 and “Rah Bar”
Linda Meyer
Bonnie Powers
President’s Quarters Inn
River Street Inn
Savannah Theater
The Six Pence Pub
Sterling Links Golf Club
Jan Vach

Farewell to a Colleague and Friend

January 27th, 2016

http://www.myhsf.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/Terri-Bio-Photo-small2.jpgHSF’s top-notch and much-loved Development Director, Terri O’Neil, will be leaving HSF in early February.  Terri has accepted an offer to become the Development Director at the Savannah Philharmonic.  This is a terrific opportunity for her, and we wish her all the best.  It is flattering that our excellent personnel are sought by other quality non-profits, and it says much about what Terri and HSF have achieved in the last five years.

Among other major accomplishments credited to her, Terri established the Preservation Festival, built a solid team within HSF’s Development Department, helped guide HSF through a Capital Campaign, assisted with fundraising for the National Preservation Conference, and set up a Planned Giving Program.  Her commitment to preservation and dedication to HSF showed in the energy and enthusiasm she poured into this organization’s events and programs.

Needless to say, Terri will be sorely missed.  The good news is, HSF is on solid financial ground and we have begun searching for a successor.  With key input from Frances Colón, our Special Events Coordinator, and Chassidy Malloy, our Membership and Volunteer Coordinator, HSF will move carefully but swiftly to fill the position of Development Director.

In the meantime, we encourage our members, donors and sponsors to wish Terri well with her new opportunity.

2016 Annual Appeal

January 27th, 2016

We are grateful to the many loyal and first time supporters who contributed to our year-end appeal. We surpassed our goal, raising $24k to help with our annual operations. Your generosity demonstrates that you believe in HSF’s important work—and we thank you!

Annual Appeal Donations received as of 1.27.2016

Dr. and Mrs. Chad Brock
Mr. and Mrs. W. Park Callahan
Mr. and Mrs. Gary Capen
Mr. and Mrs. Stuart Clifford
Ms. Susie Clinard and Mr. Harley Lingerfelt
Mr. and Mrs. Timothy E. Coy
Gardner Family Foundation
Ms. Alison K. Garnjost
Mr. and Mrs. Jim F. Gross
Mr. and Mrs. Kent M. Harrington
Mr. Robert L. Harrison
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Izlar
J. C. Lewis Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Stuart M. Johnson
Mr. and Mrs. Leftwich Kimbrough
Mr. and Mrs. Charles R. Kinnaird
Mr. and Mrs. Ted J. Kleisner
Mr. and Mrs. Angus C. Littlejohn, Jr.
Mary J. Lockwood
Marand, Inc. – Six Pence Pub
John and Robert Murphy
Mr. and Mrs. Mark W. Nichols
Mr. and Mrs. Jason C. Pedigo
Mr. and Mrs. Carl Sassano
Mr. and Mrs. Mark V. Smith
In honor of Mr. Christan Sottile
Mr. Wayne Spear and Mr. Murray Perlman
Ms. Gay Stevens
Mr. and Mrs. Austin Sullivan
The Colonial Group, Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. R. E. Thorpe Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph P. Wenzlick
Julia S. White
Mrs. Emily C. Winburn

 Page 1 of 12  1  2  3  4  5 » ...  Last »